200 Old Colony Ave. Boston, MA 02127

Phone: (617) 268-1912 

Fax: (617) 464-7924

Center Hours of Operation

email (1).png

Mon-Thur:     8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday:           8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Saturday:      Closed

Sunday:         Closed

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page

ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages)

The goal of the program is for students to develop and refine listening, speaking, reading, writing, and computer skills, so that they can make rapid progress toward academic, vocational, or employment “next steps.” Two services, Distance and Online Learning for ESOL Students and the Citizenship Program, provide additional support. This program serves over 200 students annually in four levels of classes.

Curriculum

The department offers basic to intermediate instruction to adults from more than 30 countries. All levels include level-appropriate listening, speaking, reading, writing, math, and computer instruction. Many students graduate to Adult Basic Education (ABE) and HiSET courses, where they typically thrive.

 

Language Classes

Class size is capped at 20 to ensure that students receive the instructional time and support they need.  Volunteers provide individual or small-group tutorials outside of class to reinforce classroom instruction. 

 

ESOL-Related Services

 

 

Distance and Online Learning for ESOL Students 

NDEC is the hub for and a partner in ESOL distance and online learning with the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.

         Hybrid Class: Online and Face-to-Face

 

 

Participation in this class provides many ways to build language skills: instruction, a weekly conversation class, an online community website and blog, and other resources. Each week, participants spend a minimum of 4 hours in class and 3 hours online.

 

For further information, please contact Margaret Lanen, SND, Distance Learning Coordinator, at (617) 268-1912 x303, or mlanen@ndecboston.org.

Citizenship Preparation 

Citizenship classes are offered to students who are in the process of naturalization. The classes focus on the basics of United States history, the role of its government, and the responsibilities of its citizens. Assistance is provided in the preparation of the N400 naturalization application. Case management and immigration counseling services are available.

 

To enroll in citizenship classes, students must be at least 18 years old; have had their Green Card for at least 5 years (at least 3 years if married to a U.S. citizen); be prepared to present their Green Card at the first class; and speak, read, and write basic English at the NDEC ESOL Level 3 or 4 (or test to that level if not enrolled in NDEC classes). There is a $75.00 registration fee due at time of acceptance for applicants who are not NDEC students. 

          Click here for the current citizenship course information.

 

For further information or to apply, please contact Sr. Gerry Stanton, SND, Immigration Case Manager, at (617) 268-1912, or email gstanton@ndecboston.org.

 

Department Staff

Manny Reynoso 

mreynoso@ndecboston.org

(617) 268-1912 ex. 245

Resource Counselor

Silvia Mejia

smejia@ndecboston.org

(617) 268-1912 ex. 245

Teachers

Erin Gilmartin 

egilmartin@ndecboston.org

Immigration Case Manager

Sr. Gerry Stanton 

gstanton@ndecboston.org

(617) 268-1912 ex. 223  

Distance Learning

Patricia Drake - Learning Coach

pdrake@ndecboston.org

Diana Satin - Learning Coach

dsatin@ndecboston.org

Sr. Margaret McLaughlin 

mmclaughlin@ndecboston.org

Send ESOL a Message

Sr. Catherine O'Brien 

cobrien@ndecboston.org

Sylvia Mejia

smejia@ndecboston.org

Rodeline Prince

rprince@ndecboston.org

Joanne White 

jwhite@ndecboston.org

Sr. Margaret Lanen - Coordinator 

mlanen@ndecboston.org

(617) 268-1912 ex. 303

We're sorry, but we are no longer offering citizenship classes.